Humans of New York

by linzcaryl

Have you ever had one of those moments when something happens and you realize how lucky you are? Or how when something really good and unexpected occurs amidst a series of unfortunate events?

Today, I had one of those moments. 

I had been a big fan of the popular blog and Facebook site called Humans of New York (HONY) for months. Beautiful photographs coupled with stories that are funny, heartbreaking, angry, happy, worried, confused or sad cuts to the core of genuine humanity and paints a picture of what it means to live in a bustling and ever evolving city like New York. 

Last Oct. 11, my twin sister and I stayed up past 12.35 am to watch HONY’s feature on ABC Nightline and it was truly inspiring. I think that from that point on (and the days that succeeded where I kept telling her about HONY) she sensed my true love for the stories that unfolded on the site.

Last night I told her how excited I was to know that the HONY book was available in Chapters (a Canadian bookstore) and Fully Booked (a Filipino bookstore) since I had planned on asking for it as my Christmas present.

           Image Image

Today, I received this surprise from my twin sister. I cried tears of joy because I really didn’t expect to get it from her, more so, to get it today. It was what I loved and needed the most and I feel really blessed. 

I have been going through a rough patch with finding my way professionally and having a few health issues along the way, but receiving this book gives me that glimmer of hope that things will be alright. How lucky is it to receive something you’ve wanted at a time when you need it the most from someone, just because?

The stories on HONY give me courage and inspiration to follow my dreams. The stories tell you that it’s ok to make mistakes and life won’t always go the way of how we planned it, but it doesn’t mean that we won’t get another chance to shoot for the stars. I want to write and I want to write well. Although I don’t know exactly where I’m going next, who knows maybe somewhere along the pages of HONY, I can find the answers to my prayer.

 Image

