What’s in a Name?

by linzcaryl

What's in a Name?

My parents named me “Linz” because the Austrian city holds a special significance to where they celebrated their honeymoon. I’ve secretly longed to visit Austria, just to see the place for myself and bask in its unique beauty and history. The timing to do so has to be right and I’m hoping the moment will come soon.

Many people have asked me if my name was short for “Lindsay” and it takes awhile for people to understand that it’s spelled out as “Linz” and not “Linds”. I love my name and there’s something about people writing and spelling your name out correctly that shows respect and makes you feel like you matter to them, so I don’t mind spelling it out.

The dream of seeing Linz, Austria (even at least on televison) came true last Sunday when I was watching one of my favorite shows, The Amazing Race.

The Amazing Race is something I look forward to watching each season. It combines the thrill of travelling with completing challenges and seeing how each team deals with competition and at times, injury and difficulty. As a long time fan of the show, I’ve longed for that day when they’ll feature a challenge in Linz, Austria.

Luck was definitely on my side when on the 6th leg of the race’s 23rd season, the teams travel to sing with the Vienna Boys’ Choir, 26 minutes into the show. I couldn’t contain my excitement when I saw the street sign with “Linz” on it! And although they didn’t complete any challenges there, seeing the street sign up on screen was enough for me to feel happy, giddy and shriek with joy.

It felt surreal to see something that matters a lot to me on one of the shows I’ve been watching for years. Now the only thing that’s left to do is see the place for myself.

PS. Did I mention that a string of txts and Facebook messages ensued between my sisters and I regarding this moment? Ah! What a thrill!

