Withholding Judgment

by linzcaryl

judg·ment

tt noun \ˈjəj-mənt\

: an opinion or decision that is based on careful thought

I always fell victim to doing the opposite. Yet all the judgments and opinions, I kept to myself, for fear of hurting others. Most of the time, people surprised me. Some for the better, others for the worse.

He came into my life when I least expected it. I was nervous and laughed like a giddy schoolgirl. A default coping mechanism. I played along, hoping for the best. I thought to myself, some of the best things happen unexpectedly.

He surprised me with his determination. I called him bright eyes and saw myself in him when I was 21. I was ready for the happy, exciting and new. But what if, it all turns out to be a fluke? Can my fragile heart withstand it?

 

*This post, as a response to June 8th’s Daily Prompt

 

